Metro Council District 5

  1. Proposed Grocery Store for N Baton Rouge

  2. District 5 Community Meeting @ Charles R. Kelly Center 6-8 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 20, 2024

  3. Glen Oaks Neighborhood Association Meeting at Charles R. Kelly Community Center @ 6 p.m. February 1, 2024

  4. Free Pet Food Giveaway Rescheduled to Wednesday, January 31, 2024, at Charles R. Kelly Center

  5. Free Heartworm Clinic Aims to Protect Pets, Sat, Jan. 20th, 8am-11am.

  6. Zion City Community Clean-Up Day 8 a.m.-1 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 13, 2024

  7. Christmas Parade, Gift Giveaway at 1 p.m. Saturday, December 23, 2024

  8. Due to expected inclement weather conditions, the “A December To Remember” Christmas Tree Lighting Festival has been postponed to Saturday, December 16, 2023, 5:30pm – 8:30pm

  9. Youth Mentoring and Career Development Day for Capitol High Students 9-11 a.m. November 29, 2023

  10. Annual Thanksgiving Dinner @ Charles R. Kelly Center 6-7:30 p.m. Thursday, November 16, 2023

  11. Free Pet Food Giveaway & Vaccine Clinic, Saturday 11-4-2023 @ 8:00 am- 11:00 am

  12. Meet Your Elected Officials @ Istrouma High 5:30-7:30 p.m. Tuesday, October 24, 2023

  13. Blocktoberfest Trunk or Treat Will Be Held at Monticello Boulevard Median 6-8 p.m. October 31, 2023

  14. Tricked Out Car Show & Trunk or Treat @ Charles R. Kelly Center 6-8 p.m. Sunday, Oct. 29, 2023

  15. Voter Registration & Food Box Giveaway @ Charles R. Kelly Center, 10 a.m.-Noon Saturday, September 16, 2023

  16. Seminar on Property Investment Through Adjudication and Tax Sales September 30th, 10am-1pm

  17. World Literacy Day Featuring Brandon Chastang @ Charles R. Kelly Center, 4:30 p.m. Friday, September 8, 2023

  18. Point of Order: A Conversation with Eric Mays of Flint, Mich., @ Southern's Valdry Center @ 7:30 p.m. Wednesday, August 23, 2023

  19. Glen Oaks & Victoria Farms Community Improvement Meeting 6 p.m. August 17, 2023 @ Glen Oaks High

  20. All White Summer Jam with Kenny Neal - Free @ Maplewood Park, 5 p.m. Friday, August 25, 2023

  21. Back 2 School Give Away - Free Haircuts, Uniforms, Supplies, Food @ Charles R. Kelly Center @ 3 p.m. Sunday, August 6, 2023

  22. Back to School Giveaway - Free Haircuts, Supplies, Uniforms, Food @ N. Sherwood Forest Park 11 a.m. Saturday, August 5, 2023

  23. Urban Discovery Townhall Hosted by Councilman Hurst at Charles R. Kelly Center at 6 P.M. Thursday, August 3, 2023

  24. Rock'N Roll'N July 13th, @ 6:30 PM Park Forest Elementary

  25. Summer Wellness Kickoff June 22 @ 10:00 am - 2 pm

  26. Free Pet Food Every 4th Wednesday at Charles R. Kelly Center

  27. Future Entrepreneur DJ Boot Camp July 17-27, 5pm-7pm.

  28. WELCOME TO COME AND ENJOY BREAKFAST AT 8:00 AM AND LUNCH AT 11:00 AM DAILY, MONDAY - FRIDAY, STARTING MONDAY, JUNE 5, 2023 THROUGH THE END OF THE MONTH.

  29. Community Clean Up. Postponed until Saturday, May 6, 2023

  30. Community Easter Egg Hunt @ East Brookstown Park 11 a.m.-3 p.m. Saturday, April 8, 2023

  31. Brookstown Community Clean Up Day, Saturday, March 25, @ 8:00 am

  32. District 5 Eggstravaganza 1-4 p.m. Saturday, April 1, 2023 @ Charles R. Kelly Center

  33. Community Meeting at Charles R. Kelly Center at 6 p.m. Tuesday, March 14, 2023

  34. Senior Education & Employment Exp Thursday, February 23, 9:30 AM - 11:30 AM

  35. Youth Enrichment Kickoff, Saturday February 25, 1:00 PM - 4:00 PM

  36. District 5 Zoning Meeting on S&M Towing 6 p.m. Thursday, February 2, @ Charles R. Kelly Center

  37. District 5 Meeting for 70814, Free Food @ 6 p.m. Tuesday, August 23, 2022

  38. Mental Health Hospital Community Meeting. Saturday, January 21st @ 10:00am

  39. Ribbon Cutting Ceremony Saturday, January 14, 2023 @ 12noon

  40. Employment EXPO December 6th, from 4:30pm - 6pm at the Charles R. Kelly Community Center

  41. Sponsors Needed for Angel Tree @ Charles R. Kelley Center; Donations Deadline Friday, Dec. 9, 2022

  42. Thanksgiving Luncheon November 20th, @ 2:00pm - 4:00 pm

  43. Truck or Tread and Fall Fest on Monday, October 31, 2022 @ 5:00 pm - 5:30 pm

  44. 10/4/2022 District 5 Community Meeting Cancelled

  45. Community Meeting for 70805 September 20th @6:00pm-7:30pm

  46. Free Pet Food Every 4th Wednesday at Charles R. Kelly Center

  47. September 20th Community Meeting @ 6:00 pm - 7:30 pm

  48. POSTPONED: Brookstown Park Cleanup 9 a.m.-1 p.m. Saturday, August 27, 2022

  49. Free Expungement without an attorney, August 13, 2022 @10:00 am

  50. Bookbag & Uniform Giveaway, Free Haircuts 3-6 p.m. Sunday, August 7, 2022

  51. Zion City Clean-Up, Saturday, July 16, 2022

  52. Free Meals for Age 18 and Younger Every Weekday in June 2022 @ Charles R. Kelly Center

  53. Glen Oaks Easter Egg Hunt @ Glen Oaks High Football Field, 1 p.m. Saturday 4/16/22

  54. Glen Oaks Neighborhood Association Meeting @ Charles R. Kelly Center @ 6:30 p.m. Thursday, May 19, 2022

  55. District 5 Community Meeting @ Charles R. Kelly Center 6-8 p.m. Tuesday, Feb. 20, 2024

  56. Community Bike Ride 6 p.m. Friday, May 13, 2022, at Maplewood Park

  57. District 5 Community Meeting @ Charles R. Kelly Community Center at 6 p.m. Monday, March 7, 2022

  58. Operation Clean Up Seeks Volunteers at Cadillac Park 8 a.m.-1 p.m. Saturday, April 23, 2022

  59. Blight Removal Project Meeting at Charles R. Kelly Community Center at 12:30 p.m. Wednesday, March 9, 2022

  60. Bringing Back The Community Wednesday, March 2nd at 12PM.

  61. Community Meeting February 21, 2022 @ 6:00pm-7:00pm

  62. Free Concert "Sounds and Seniors" @ Ruffins III - The Showroom, 4-7 p.m. Sunday, Feb. 20, 2022

  63. Mid-Year School Supply Giveaway Feb. 19th, Saturday 3pm - 5pm

  64. Community Meeting February 17, 2022 @ 6:00pm-7:30pm

  65. Mother-Son Valentine's Dance at Charles R. Kelly Center, Saturday, Feb. 12, 2022

  66. Prayer Breakfast Tuesday February 1, 2022 @ 8am 10am