News Flash

MyBR Progress

Posted on: January 25, 2023

Mayor Broome Appointed to EPA Advisory Committee

WASHINGTON – This month, U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announced the appointment of 15 new and 7 returning members to the Local Government Advisory Committee (LGAC). The announcement came at a public meeting of the Committee, where members presented recommendations on implementation of the Inflation Reduction Act. 

The 34-member LGAC will have an even split of male and female members, including 14 people of color, and representation from 29 different states and U.S. territories. The Administrator also appointed 13 new and 5 returning members to the LGAC’s Small Communities Advisory Subcommittee. 

Mayor Leirion Gaylor Baird of Lincoln, Nebraska, will continue to as the LGAC’s chair, and Mayor Lucy Vinis of Eugene, Oregon, will serve as the LGAC’s vice chair. Administrator Regan also appointed Ann Mallek, Supervisor of Albemarle County, Virginia, as co-chair of the SCAS. Mallek will join Commissioner Christine Lowery of Cibola County, New Mexico, who has held the position for the past year.

Members were chosen from a pool of more than 80 highly qualified candidates. Selections for the one- and two-year terms were made in accordance with the LGAC charter to achieve balance and diversity in terms of geographic location, gender, ethnicity, and stakeholder perspective.

The new and returning (denoted with *) LGAC members and their affiliations are:

The Honorable Ras Baraka, Mayor, Newark, NJ*

The Honorable Luke Bronin, Mayor, Hartford, CT

The Honorable Sharon Broome, Mayor, Baton Rouge, LA

Mr. Gary Brown, Director of Water and Sewerage Department, Detroit, MI*

The Honorable Kimberly duBuclet, Water Reclamation District Commissioner, Cook County, IL 

Ms. Miki Esposito, Associate Director of Public Works, Los Angeles County

The Honorable Sarah Fox, Councilmember, Vancouver, WA

The Honorable Jacob Frey, Mayor, Minneapolis, MN

The Honorable Jonathan Grieder, Councilmember, City of Waterloo, IA

The Honorable Brenda Howerton, County Commissioner, Durham County, NC

The Honorable Deana Holiday Ingraham, Mayor, East Point, GA*

The Honorable Heather Kimball, Councilmember, Hawai’i County

The Honorable Nathan MagsigCounty Supervisor, Fresno County, CA

The Honorable Ann Mallek, Supervisor, Albemarle County, VA

The Honorable Rachel May, State Senator, Syracuse, NY*

The Honorable Christian Menefee, County Attorney, Harris County, TX

The Honorable Douglas Nicholls, Mayor, Yuma, AZ*

The Honorable Ron Nirenberg, Mayor, San Antonio, TX*

The Honorable David Painter, County Commissioner, Clermont County, OH

The Honorable Mary Lou Pauly, Mayor, Issaquah, WA

Mr. Whitford Remer, Sustainability and Resilience Officer, Tampa, FL

The Honorable Satya Rhodes-Conway, Mayor, Madison, WI*

Chartered in 1993 under the Federal Advisory Committee Act, the Local Government Advisory Committee provides independent policy advice to the EPA Administrator on a broad range of issues affecting local governments. The Small Community Advisory Subcommittee was established by EPA in 1996 to advise the Administrator on environmental issues of concern to the residents of smaller communities.

For more information about the LGAC, please visit

For more information about the SCAS, please visit:

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in MyBR Progress

MyBR App is here!

Posted on: December 5, 2023

Comite River Cleaning Project Completed

Posted on: October 4, 2023

Comite River Cleaning Underway

Posted on: April 11, 2023