Executive, Legislative & Judicial Operations

This section outlines the specific duties of the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of government. The legislative branch consists of the Council; the executive is the Mayor-President. Broadly speaking, the mayor administers the affairs of the city and parish under policies and procedures established by the council of which the mayor is not a member. He or she can influence policy through making recommendations to the Council and via membership in the Planning Commission and Recreation and Parks Commission.

Term Limits

On November 8, 1995, the Plan of Government was amended to provide that neither the Mayor-President nor the members of the Metropolitan Council may serve more than 3 consecutive terms of office, commencing January 1, 1997, and thereafter.