District 12 - Barbara Freiberg

Barbara Freiberg has been elected to represent House District 70 in the state Legislature.

Apply here for the District 12 seat. Residents who are registered voters are eligible; check your address here.

Barbara Freiberg

Barbara Freiberg

Council Member,
District 12

222 Saint Louis Street
Room 358
Baton Rouge, LA 70802
Phone: 225-389-4697
Fax: 225-389-8895
Email Barbara Freiberg

Barbara Reich Freiberg was elected to Baton Rouge Metro Council, representing District 12 on December 10, 2016. View the District 12 Map (PDF)

Education / Experience

Barbara attended EBR public schools; graduated from Lee High School; and earned her B.A. in Education from Louisiana Tech University and her M.A. in English from the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill. She returned to the Baton Rouge community, teaching for the last 43 years at Glen Oaks High School, Lee High School and the LSU Lab School. She also served as Education Administrator of the Louisiana Board of Elementary and Secondary Education, Coordinator at Advance Innovative Education, and was a Program Manager of the Baton Rouge Transition to Teaching Program at the LSU Gordon Cain Center. Barbara is also a MetroMorphosis/Urban Congress Delegate – an organization dedicated to developing and mobilizing a critical mass of engaged citizens to design and implement sustainable solutions to persistent community challenges.


Barbara Reich Freiberg and her husband Mickey, have been married for 43 years. They are the parents of two grown children and proud grandparents of one grandchild.

Legislative Aide

Gloria Gremillion serves as Legislative Assistant and can be reached at 225-389-4697 or by emailing Gloria.

Open Neighborhood BR: Council District 12

View the map below and learn more about requests for service, permitting activity, police and traffic incidents, and more in Council District 12 — all part of our commitment to transparency and digital citizen engagement through open data. For more information, visit Open Neighborhood BR: Council District 12.