Disaster Declarations

As one of the most disaster-prone areas in the country, East Baton Rouge Parish is able to collect and share data from each experience to serve as a model for the broader emergency management community.

EBR Disaster Declarations

Federal Disaster Declarations

Disaster Declaration Process

The Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 U.S.C. §§ 5121-5207 (the Stafford Act) §401 states in part that: "All requests for a declaration by the President that a major disaster exists shall be made by the Governor of the affected State." 

There are two types of disaster declarations provided for in the Stafford Act: Emergency Declarations and Major Disaster Declarations. Both declaration types authorize the President to provide supplemental federal disaster assistance.  However, the events related to the two different types of declaration and the scope and amount of assistance differ. The Governor of the affected State must submit a request to the President, through the appropriate Regional Administrator, within 30 days of the occurrence of the incident.  The request must be based upon a finding that the situation is beyond the capability of the State and affected local governments and that supplemental federal emergency assistance is necessary to save lives and protect property, public health, and safety, or to lessen or avert the threat of a disaster. 

How a Disaster Gets Declared