Virtual Education Town Hall

Education in ebr webinar

In light of the COVID-19 pandemic, Mayor-President Sharon Weston Broome hosted Baton Rouge’s most-recognized educational leaders in virtual town hall meetings. 

The Town Hall series emphasized the importance of the continued partnership as part of the Capital Area Promise initiative. 

facts, figures & finances: transitioning students during covid-19

Tuesday, June 16, 6-7:30 p.m. [ Watch the webinar ]

The focus of this Educational Webinar is to address the many academic and financial needs of students as they prepare for their education by discussing the following topics:

  • Mental health and emotional support for students transitioning into college
  • Support for K-12 students
  • Admissions process for college-bound students
  • COVID-19 updates regarding the TOPS Award for first-time and continuing students
  • Financial aid/FAFSA information

Capital Area Human Services director Jan Laughinghouse, Ph.D., will be the special guest speaker for this seminar. Presenters include Tirza Fernandez-Brazier (director of counseling, EBRP Schools); Erin Bradford (director of iCare); Ebony Holmes (Louisiana Office of Student Financial Assistance); Runell J. King, Ph.D. (admissions director for Southern); Daniel Barrow (admissions director for LSU); Taishieka Davis (financial aid director for Southern); and Miracle Davis (financial aid director for BRCC).

keeping the promise: a town hall on education  

Tuesday, May 5, 1-2:30 p.m. [ Watch the Webinar ]

The first webinar, "Keeping the Promise: A Town Hall on Education," was held on May 5, 2020. Offered in collaboration with Capital Area Promise, this webinar examined how the Capital City is working to deliver quality education and related services in the midst of a public health crisis. 

This event featured leaders from the following institutions, Dr. Ray Belton (President/Chancellor Southern University), Interim President Tom Galligan (LSU), Interim Chancellor Willie Smith (BRCC), and Superintendent Warren Drake (EBPSS). These academic leaders will be joined by Dr. Johan Uvin, President for the Institute of Educational Leadership and former Acting Assistant Secretary with the U.S. Department of Education, who will provide opening remarks on the State of Education throughout the country.